I CAN

Sometimes I wish that someone would tell me that

No, I can’t

I wish they would laugh at me

And tell me no

No, no, no, no, no

So I could take those no’s

And make balls of them in my fists

Hurling them back one at a time

Screaming

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes

I CAN
Stretching out those last words

Shaking them like a baseball bat

Ready to hit every “no” that flies my way

Feel the satisfying slam of not caring

Believing, knowing, doing,

I wish – I dare – someone to tell me

To throw me a no

As I stand

I CAN in hand

Challenging, defying, disregarding

Yes, yes, yes

I CAN

Feedback? Yes, please:

