Love For a Summer Storm

This is a response to a daily post a few days ago: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/daily-prompt-rain/

I love a summer storm

The rush of the rain

The heartbeat of the earth

Pulsing through my veins

I love a summer storm

The rumbling of the thunder

The rattling of my house

As the trees are torn asunder

I love a summer storm

The flash of lightning

The yellow eerie glow

Fascinating, yet frightening

I love a summer storm

The warmth of a worn armchair

The smell of a good story

Swirling in the tempestuous air

I love a summer storm

The thrill that comes from existing

Daring to push my window open

To feel the storm writhing and twisting

I love a summer storm

The perfect rainy afternoon

The pleasure and excuse twirled together

A thunderstorm in June

2 thoughts on “Love For a Summer Storm

Feedback? Yes, please:

