I Wish That

I wish that

I could pull worries from my heart

Like a magician pulls a handkerchief from his sleeve

Then hang them out to dry

In the cool summer breeze

I wish that

I could free my hope

From the cage that guards my heart

And watch it flutter around

Falling and rising with every breath

I wish that

I could eat bravery up

Like a strong, hearty stew

Gobble it up until its gone

Then smack my lips fearlessly

I wish that

I could have a pesticide

For greed and jealousy

Could spray my heart

With cool, calming logic

I wish that

I could untangle love

Like pulling knots out of knitting

Smoothing the bumps and cutting off stray pieces

Until it was flat and clear to see

I wish that

I could buy wisdom

Like a book of instructions

Ready to be read

And devoured thoroughly

I wish that

I could understand why

My heart feels like a marionette

With other hands tugging on the strings

Pulling it this way and that way

I wish that

Sometimes I could lock my heart away

And forget pain, forget sorrow

But I can’t

Those hands just won’t let go

🙂

4 thoughts on “I Wish That

Feedback? Yes, please:

