The Essence of Myself

Holding on tightly

Didn’t want to let go

Scared of the unknown

Of things I didn’t know

I try to come off smart

But I’m as blind as all the rest

Unable to see what’s in front of me

Just want to be the best

Ignorance of the obvious

I spin my tales of worry

Life stares me in the face

But I’m in too much of a hurry

There’s always a goal I have to reach

I’m always searching for happiness

Never shall I be satisfied

No matter how much I am blessed

But now and then, I take a moment

To look me in the eyes

Admire myself for once

All truth, no lies

Feedback? Yes, please:

