Fire

They were just words

But

It felt like someone

Had struck a match in my throat

Just a little scrape

But the tiny flickering flame

Fueled by my unsteady breaths

Quickly grew

Spreading across my cheeks

Scorching, scalding, smoking, sizzling

It engulfed my eyeballs

Pushing out every inch of moisture in them

Eyes on fire

And they burn from all the tears

Blazing across my forehead

All logical thoughts

Down in flames

Timber!

My feelings caught fire

It slowly consumed them

Oh, how my feelings hurt

Reduced to ashes

Until nothing made sense anymore

Just red

Fiery, hot red

Drowning in red

One thought on “Fire

Feedback? Yes, please:

