Total War

It tastes like blood

And smells like smoke

Hazy images

In the red and orange flames

Helpless cries

Echo in my dirty ears

Soot-covered hands

Gripping a gun

That has ended many lives

And will end more

Innocent people

Gone

It tastes like blood

And sounds like torment

Yells of victory

Pleading cries

Mix together

The roar of the flame

Is no less scary

Knowing I have helped create it

And will do nothing to stop it

It tastes like blood

And feels like forever

But I will keep walking

Until this is behind me

And I breathe clean air

But it will never be gone

This memory is seared

Into my mind

My heart

Scarred onto my hands

It tastes like blood

Warm

Sweet

Sickening

Total war has broken out.

Feedback? Yes, please:

